Museum Divisions

The Museum of Natural and Cultural History consists of three primary units:

  • Collections safeguards nearly 1 million ethnographic and archaeological objects and almost 100,000 fossils and biological specimens and continues to grow
  • Research is devoted to making new scientific and historical discoveries in Oregon and Pacific Northwest archaeology and paleontology
  • Public Programs offers in-depth educational programs and creates engaging exhibits and visitor experiences

Faculty, staff, and volunteers strive to make the museum a vibrant center of natural and cultural history in the state--a place where research, preservation, stewardship, and education meet.